I recently published a post detailing my journey to create a capsule wardrobe and mentioned that I would share what items are part of my wardrobe.  That being said, here it is!

Tops:

  1. Black long-sleeved shirt
  2. Black turtleneck
  3. Black chiffon button-up blouse
  4. Black and white striped shirt
  5. Black short-sleeved shirt
  6. Light blue chambray button-up
  7. Plum long-sleeved shirt

Bottoms:

  1. Dark skinny jeans
  2. Dark skinny jeans
  3. Dark skinny jeans
  4. Light-wash skinny jeans
  5. Black dress pants

Dresses:

  1. Black shirt dress
  2. Green tank shirt dress
  3. Navy blue cover-up
  4. Black keyhole dress

Layers

  1. Black 3/4 blazer
  2. Dark brown leather jacket
  3. Sweater
  4. Fleece Pullover

Shoes:

  1. Back tall boots
  2. Black ankle boots
  3. Black dress heels
  4. Dark brown clogs
  5. Brown western boots

Accessories:

  1. Blanket scarf
  2. Black and white striped scarf
  3. Purple scarf
  4. Black purse
  5. Jewelry (count as one)
  6. Belt

Miscellaneous:

  1.  Pajamas
  2. Undergarments (including socks, count as one)

There you have it!  While I live in a winter weather state, I did not count my winter jacket, boots, or snow pants as they are season-specific and a basic requirement.  I also did not count workout clothing, as that is a non-negotiable part of my lifestyle.  I keep a single box of summer clothing in storage, in which I will swap out most of the jeans for shorts/capris pants, and trade the long-sleeved shirts for short-sleeved blouses.

Seasonal wear used to be a problem for me because I like the challenge of limiting my clothing to a number.  My number one advice if you are considering a capsule wardrobe is that you should focus more on the versatility of items than focusing on a number.  There is no prescribed “perfect number!”  I doubt my capsule will stick to solely 33 items as I continue to use it because we should not ignore our needs, but it is a good starting point to develop the mindset of dressing with less!  Pass it on!

 

Leave a comment